High Plain Drift Inn Requirements
We require a 50% deposit to book and hold your place until hunting season. When you arrive you will pay the balance.
Please note that we require cash for the balance of your booking fee when you arrive, we hope this does not inconvenience you in any way but we are just so old fashioned! If this is not convenient for you please call us before your arrival if you would like to pay your balance with a credit card.
There must be at least two persons in every group.
Also I would like to point out here as I have in other places on the website, that we do not have electricity at the ranch so make sure you bring along your cigarette lighter charger for your phone.
Requirements of the State of Colorado
All guest hunters are responsible for obtaining their proper licensing from the Colorado Division of Wildlife. Over-the-counter tags can be bought at a local Wal-Mart, Big R store, or any hunting and fishing store in Colorado upon arrival of your visit. If you wish to buy your tag early, you may do so online or by phone with the Colorado Division of Wildlife starting July 25.
To purchase a license
In order to purchase a license in the state you need to have a drivers license or other picture I.D. and a Hunter’s Safety Card. The only exceptions to this is if you were born before 1949; if so you do not have to have a Hunter’s Safety Card.
2017 LICENSE FEES:
Elk Draw (Limited)
Resident adult: $49
Resident youth: $13.75
Nonresident bull/fishing combo*: $644
Nonresident either-sex/fishing combo*: $644
Nonresident cow/fishing combo*: $484
Nonresident youth/fishing combo*: $103.75
Elk Over-the-Counter & Leftover
Resident adult: $46
Resident youth: $10.75
Nonresident bull/fishing combo*: $641
Nonresident either-sex/fishing combo*: $641
Nonresident cow/fishing combo*: $481
Nonresident youth/fishing combo*: $100.75
*License Fees are according to the Colorado Parks and Wildlife 2017 Big Game requirements. All prices include a 25-cent search-and-rescue fee, a 75-cent surcharge for the Wildlife Management Education Fund and a $3 application fee for limited licenses applied for in the draw. Nonresident fishing licenses are good through March 31, 2018.
After killing an elk
*Please note that we have more trouble with hunters making this mistake than any other.
After killing an elk, while you are processing it, you must leave the evidence of sex attached to a hind quarter, as stated in the Colorado regulations.
Please read the Colorado regulations! Every state is a bit different, so even if you are an avid hunter, you may not be aware of some of Colorado’s laws.